Making character models in Blender?

Mobzooki

Is exporting models from Blender to Brawlbox possible at all?
This is my first time modding mkw and I followed these steps (up to step 5), but when i exported the model as a .dae and opened it in Brawlbox the mesh and textures were really distorted
Then i tried exporting it as a .fbx and using the Autodesk fbx converter, but that made things a lot worse. Using the fbx converter basically just deletes the model.
I'm using Blender 2.68a btw

Are there any Blender plugins or converters I can use to export it as a .dae that Brawlbox can import properly? Or are there any free modelling programs i can use instead of Blender?
Any help would be greatly appreciated ✌

mkwbenjamin

Black Lives Matter.
Supporter
Switch
2872-9308-0601
Wiimmfi
5117-0125-4985
did you follow that tutorial up to step 5, meaning you stopped after 4, or did you stop after five? The settings in step five seem to be important.

also, can you elaborate on what you mean by "distorted"? the model will definitely not look correct when first importing, but I can tell you if your distortion is normal or not.

I'm not sure about blender, since I've only used 3ds max, but I hope I can be of some help!

OP
Mobzooki

Mobzooki

Thread Starter #3
did you follow that tutorial up to step 5, meaning you stopped after 4, or did you stop after five? The settings in step five seem to be important.

also, can you elaborate on what you mean by "distorted"? the model will definitely not look correct when first importing, but I can tell you if your distortion is normal or not.

I'm not sure about blender, since I've only used 3ds max, but I hope I can be of some help!
I got halfway through step 5, I did the part where you change ScalingRule to Maya, but not applying the original material and shader settings because I wasn't sure how to do it.

Here's what the .blend model looks like in Blender
blender1.PNG